What is 5 Extra Hours of Data?

Data, Talk & Text customers can now enjoy the freedom of using data in those moments they need it most. With 5 Extra Hours of Data, you get 1 EXTRA hour of data, 5 times per billing cycle.

Who is eligible for 5 Extra Hours of Data?

Data, Talk & Text plan customers using an Android (version 4.2 and later) or iOS (iOS8.2 and later) device are eligible for 5 Extra Hours of Data. To check if you are on the right plan, text FIVE to 222.

How many sessions are available per billing cycle?

You have 5 sessions (1 hour each) available per billing cycle.

How do 5 Extra Hours of Data affect the data included in my plan?

With 5 Extra Hours of Data, you get the best of both worlds! The data included in your plan is completely separate from the data used in 5 Extra Hours of Data.

How do I get access to 5 Extra Hours of Data?

Go to your Fido My Account app. Just make sure you’re on the latest app version (Android 4.2 and later and iOS 8.2 and later required). Don’t have the app? Download the latest from Google Play or the Apple store.

How do I activate 5 Extra Hours of Data?

It’s easy! From the Fido My Account app, click on the 5 Extra Hours of Data banner, and start a session by simply shaking your phone for 3 seconds. There’s also a button that you can tap to start your session. Keep in mind that once you’ve started, it cannot be stopped, paused or resumed.

How can I check how many sessions I have used?

To view your 5 Extra Hours of Data history, go to the Fido My Account App and click on the ‟More” section from the bottom menu. Next, click on ‟5 Extra Hours of Data History”. On this page you will be able to check how many sessions you have used and when you have used them. For an additional view of data usage, you can also refer to your monthly invoice.

How to get the most out of your session:

You can use your session for a bunch of things: stream that awesome playlist, download the latest episodes of a favourite show, or navigate your way to a new adventure.

And don't forget:

  • You must be connected to and be on the Fido Network (excluding Extended Coverage areas).
  • You must have available extra hours of data left in your current billing cycle.
  • You must not be on Wi-Fi.

5 Extra Hours of Data is not available when:

  • There is no connection to the Fido Network.
  • You are roaming outside Canada.
  • You are in Extended Coverage areas.
  • You are on Wi-Fi.
  • You’ve used all 5 extra hours of data in your current billing cycle.

How can I check how much data I’ve used during a session?

During your active session, go to the Fido My Account app, and click on the 5 Extra Hours of Data banner. This will bring you to the page where you can view your data usage.

Can I use 5 Extra Hours of Data when tethering?

Yes, you can use 5 Extra Hours of Data when tethering but maximum speeds may be reduced.

What happens if I start a session on the Fido network, then connect to Wi-Fi?

5 Extra Hours of Data is not available when you are on Wi-Fi. If you start a session and then move to Wi-Fi, your session will no longer be accessible. If you move back to the Fido network and your session is still active (example: you have 30 minutes remaining), you will be able to use the remaining time. Keep in mind that once you have started a session, it cannot be stopped, paused or resumed.

What happens if I start a session on the Fido network, then start to roam or enter an Extended Coverage area?

5 Extra Hours of Data is not available when you are roaming or in an Extended Coverage area. If you start a session and then move into roaming or an Extended Coverage area, we’ll immediately send you a text message letting you know that your session is no longer accessible. If you return to the Fido network and your session is still active (example: you have 30 minutes remaining), you will be able to use the remaining time. You will only receive a text message the first time you leave the Fido network in a session. Keep in mind that once you have started a session, it cannot be stopped, paused or resumed.

What happens if I start a session and then lose connectivity?

You will need connection to the Fido Network to use 5 Extra Hours of Data. If you start a session and then lose connectivity, you will not be able to use any of Fido’s services, including 5 Extra Hours of Data. If you reconnect to the Fido network and your session is still active (example: 30 minutes remain), you will be able to use the remaining time. Keep in mind that once you have started a session, it cannot be stopped, paused or resumed.

Are the 5 sessions transferable?

Your sessions cannot be shared or transferred to anyone else.

Once my 5 sessions are used, can I purchase additional ones?

Sessions are not available for purchase. Once your 5 sessions are used, you’ll have to wait until your next billing cycle to enjoy your new sessions. If you require more data, you can always add more using Fido My Account.

What if I accidentally start a session, can I get it back?

When shaking your phone, you will have a 5-second countdown period during which you can cancel your session. If you choose the ‟TAP TO START” banner to initiate your session, you will be asked to confirm with a pop-up message. Please note that once a session has been initiated, it cannot be paused, stopped or resumed.